Be open to a second Chance/Fiction series/Family relationship

Be Open To A Second Chance

Ifiok's story part III: A second chance in life gave Ifiok an incredible life and made her parents ashamed of what they did to her.

Bassey BY
5 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

Now I Begin: Be- Open to A -Second Chance-Photo by Henry Gillis on Unsplash

“When everything goes to hell, the people who stand by you without flinching–they are your family.” — Jim Butcher.

My name is Ifiok. Here's my story.

I have a hidden disability, and many people don't know, including my business partners and most of my employees.

My parents appeared to be good people, but their parenting style was toxic and more about them than about their children.

As a child in the Child Welfare system in London for about nine months, I saw how the system and my social workers perpetuated the lies of our so-called beautiful family.

--

--

Bassey BY

I write lifestyle stories that help us get healthier, wiser, happier,& wealthier.I like to organize, garden, cook & invest. https://bassey.medium.com/subscribe